solitary

#252

I am just free-writing this for those who need to hear this. To the one who feels like time is passing he/she by and that their life is moving too quickly, read this post.

I have and continue  to experience this and it’s a really interesting position to be in. I haven’t written on this blog in a while and in fact, had some drafts on here that I will probably post before this one.

Here is an example scenario to set the mood for this topic: Imagine two close friends who grew up as children together. One, named John, loses his close friend because of changes in life. Either his friend moves away, drifts away or changes. The lonely friend, (let’s say 12 years old now), has “friends” but not a real one. Eventually John starts to make a group of friends in high school. He enjoys spending time with his newfound friends and even hangs out with them on the weekends. Senior year passes by quick and John graduates. Such a “happy” tradition hits hard for him. So many changes are about to happen for him. He can never go back to high school and a portion of this boy’s life is over. A year passes by and some of John’s friends from high school start a job, others head to college and their lives drift apart. After a couple more years after John had become distracted by his studies in college, he realizes how long it had been since he had seen his school friends. While it was good while it lasted, their lives had drifted apart. That segment is over, and while he might occasionally see one of them, it’s not the same. Life progresses and changes us as individuals. Change comes physically and spiritually. Who we are and how we view ourselves can change greatly during these formative years. Friends seem to come and go, and those that remain may become distant. Let’s look at John’s life, so far, as a package. He had some good memories, but he may have also had nights stressing out over studies, worrying about life choices, and other typical thoughts, etc. Certain memories may cause him to feel depressed or even cry. The fact that those days are over may hurt him deeply. A certain song might remind of a memory with a friend who is no longer with him, or a old homework sheet with a note on the side could recollect the memory of a class. So is the solution to avoid engaging with many people? Well you answer that for me…

He also had days where he came home smiling because of a joke from a friend at school or from a great accomplishment on a difficult exam. Avoiding beneficial experiences in life is not necessarily a good idea. Do you want to look back on your life with your only memories consisting of yourself? God designed us to be an encouragement to those around us. Trust Him and He will lead you where you need to be. The entire plan for our lives has already been written. All we have to do is to seek the direction from being in close contact with the Creator. We could attempt to engage in every “good” task but if we aren’t spending time where we are supposed to be, we might miss a life-changing opportunity.

I am going to be honest here, I like change at times. I like to change the genre of my music, favorite color or even my daily routine. Change scares me when it starts to take control of my life and pull people, environments and normality away. I am trusting God and trying to hold to His promise in Jeremiah 29: 11

 “For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the Lord, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.” Jeremiah 29:11 KJV

It is comforting to know that God knows how my life is going to play out. My job is to trust Him. I know that I am trying to wrap this up with a happy tone at the end, but to those suffering with the same thoughts and even depression; I can relate to you. You’re not alone. God Loves You!

Until the next time,

Eric

Leave a comment